Sean Taylor Unveiled As Starting Free Safety on Madden's 'All-25' Team

The late Sean Taylor was unveiled as the starting free safety on the All-Madden 25th Anniversary team today

Despite the fact that he only played 3.5 NFL seasons, apparently that was enough for the late Sean Taylor to make a lasting impact on the NFL as well as EA Sports and Madden football.

Sean Taylor's 2006 Madden ranking was used for the 25th Anniversary team. 

John Madden football, arguably one of the most influential sports games created (trails only the FIFA series for the highest selling sports game), turns 25 years old this fall. To celebrate the 25th anniversary, developers of the popular video game selected an All-Time team of players from past quarter century. Players were selected based on their overall ranking at the height of their career. Sean Taylor, and his 99 overall ranking in the 2006 NFL season, was good enough to earn the starting gig on the All-Time roster. 

That season, Taylor lived up to his lofty ranking and then some. He racked up 114 total tackles, 89 solo tackles and three forced fumbles, all of which were career highs, en route to earning his first Pro Bowl nod.  Among his memorable plays from that season: Returning a blocked field goal into Dallas territory to set up a game-winning Nick Novak field goal to beat the Cowboys and a bone-crunching hit on Bills punter Brian Moorman in the Pro Bowl (see below) .

Along with Taylor, the All-25 team features 2007 Colts' defensive end Dwight Freeney, 2006 Bears' defensive end Julius Peppers and 1999 Eagles strong safety Brian Dawkins thus far. A player will be unveiled daily until the game's release. Madden 25 hits stores August 27th.

RIP ST21. Your memory lives.